The Stand by Stephen King (audiobook)

My first audibook. I decided to get audiobook because I realized that I rarely able to read paperback and my first experience was making me totally on board with audiobook. However, I thought that I could do typing and writing while listening to audiobook but found out that it is impossible. The focus is exactly as reading a normal book but I can listen to it while doing laundry, dishes and so on. So I’ll continue with audibook and even did tiny collection to be listened to.

Oh btw, I just remember that I didn’t post addressing the 2019 new year but it is almost 2 months now, so I’m going to let it slide.

So The Stand is from Stephen King and he is one of my favorite author. My fav genre are thriller, sci-fi, mystery, so it explains my fascination on Stephen King works. I picked this book because this is very famous work from SK but I never read it so with my first audiobook, I chose this book and I’m glad that I did because I love it even though it was 49 hours listening. However, I didn’t binge it because it was quite tiring. The reader for the audiobook was Grover Gardner and I likes his reading, clear even with accent.

This book is brilliant. Now I understand why this is a must for SK book even though it is so long (or thick) because I was listening for unabridged version. The first part of the book when the plague spread  was really awesome. SK also wrote from many point of view even though they are not main characters because he wanted to tell how the plague was spread. Then there was this part where people die not because of the plague but due to their stupidness was yeah-yeah-this-could-happened (while nodding) moment for me.

The second part about every surviving person try to survive and find some kind of purpose which they got from dream that would bring them to Mother Abigail (good or god side) and Randal Flagg (supernatural entity which was devil side). The second part was kinda slow but very informative, it kinda venture in sociology on how civilization restructured.

The third part was battle between good and evil side and a lot of loss.

Brilliant story for me.

 

Leave a comment