Family Trip to Penang to meet BFFs

The plan started when Roha-chan informed us that she would come to Penang for conference on 16 Dec 2019. She told us like months before. So we decided to do a gathering just like BFF langkawi trip but in Pulau Pinang instead of Pulau Langkawi.

I waited about 3 weeks or 2 weeks before the date to finalize my leaves, logistic issue on bringing Khairi, Farha and my husband and flight ticket. Flight ticket from KLIA2 to Penang was about Rm94 pax and flight return was RM64 pax. Overall with 3 adults and Rm54x2 for infant, tax and baggage close to Rm800 for Air Asia. It would be cheaper with driving but I wasn’t sure I could handle Khairi and Farha for near 10 hours in a car. 5 hours in the car and 1 hour in a plane was fine I thought.

Second thing that we realized was all of us couldn’t stay long. I took only 2 days leave, Wawa was 1 day leave, Cik Mah also 2 days leave and Roha-chan would be only arrived on Sunday. So this is quite very short met up but oh so worth it.

My family arrived in Penang on Saturday from KL. BTW We reached KL and stayed at my parent’s house the day before and we arrived at my parent’s house at 1am and had to wake up 6am to take 11.15 am flight. Aiiih…

Cik Mah fetched us from Penang airport, checked in at Vistana Hotel. We stayed in 2 rooms suite and Cik Mah arranged this because we want to make sure there was a pool since we thought that we wouldn’t have much time. Later only my family able to use the pool and only for one time. My family, Cik Mah and Wawa family had lunch at Nasi Kandar Kayu and this was our go to restaurant because it just behind our hotel. For me, the nasi kandar was okay but I had better or I might prefer others because nostalgia, I worked in Penang for a few years before. During that time, never had nasi kandar Kayu.

We just stayed in the hotel after lunch because we didn’t plan to go out, Roha-chan would arrived the next day and it was drizzling. However our friend/senior from hostel uni visited us and brought along mee udang and char kuew tiaw. Legit so tasty. We especially Wa, Cik Mah and our friend were chatting and it truly felt like when I was in the university, I visited their hostel room and would see these 3 people chatting and laughing. Seriously gurls, same exactly.

The next day, my family went to swimming pool because we kinda readied early. Farha and Khairi totally love it. Farha didn’t get her chance during De Rhu short vacay so she was totally ecstatic.

Roha-chan had arrived, adding with her sister, we decided to go to The Top, KOMTAR in Georgetown. Wanna go to see dinosaurs. The price for only dinosaurs was RM48 for MyKad holder(Malaysian) each. Below 90cm was free but Khairi (supposed RM38) was free because someone gave free pass ticket for kid. However to see almost all show, Rm74 Malaysian for adult and RM 45 for Malaysian child and Rm93 and RM55 for non citizen. We decided for just dinosaurs because we figured we didn’t have much time since Wa’s flight was on that night.

After the show and many more minutes because Khairi and Farha wanted to play with rides.

We decided to go eat Laksa Penang and chendul at famous Jalan Penang and we managed to that even though we had to ride bridge walkway, drizzling, juggling with kids and with Khairi and Farha tantrums. We managed to eat the laksa and chendul. The laksa was amazing, and the chendul? It was alright but I’d better… I think in Ipoh.

Wa and family flight were at night and we only manage to say good by from the car and we didn’t wait for her at airport like in Langkawi because no much time. While Roha-chan was waiting for her family. That night I shared nasi kandar and roti nan with chicken tandoori with Cik Mah and my husband ate nasi kandar. I didn’t manage to chat much with Cik Mah and when Roha was back, I was sound asleep.

The next day, Monday, Cik Mah drove back early morning because she had to go to work so Roha-chan sent us to airport. This was the time I made silly mistake. We went to the airport just to reach Penang Airport in one hour before flight departure and the queue for drop baggage was soooooooooo looooooong. No kidding. I figured we might missed our flight and felt so frustrated because how we were going back to KL and my paid ticket. But suddenly I heard the Air Asia staff called our flight number and we managed to cut queue because they opened counter just for this flight and we just ran to the gate. Not normal run because I was carrying Farha, my husband with a bag and Khairi. Ya Allah, it was intense. I was so scared that we would missed the flight and carrying Farha was so tiring and was so aching. We reached at the gate and other fellow riders was queuing while the flight passenger just disembark. Next time, won’t go late for any airport.

There were not a lot of pictures because we must have carrying and handling the kids.

Tiring but very fun trip because meeting my best friends. Love it.

Leave a comment