Stranger Things 1&2, The Guest, Black Mirror 1-4 and Chilling Adventure of Sabrina 1

Stranger Things 1&2

I took a long time to commit to watch Stranger Things at Netflix because I just afraid that I wouldn’t like it or it was too long but all my fear were baseless. I truly enjoyed watching it. Actually I watched just one episode but I felt it was too slow but I decided to re-watch it because it was so trending before this. And the episodes weren’t a lot. So yeay!! (8-9 episodes for each season.

The first episode was a bit slow because the series introduce to Will, Mike, Dustin and Lucas. They were best friends but they were nerd/geek. Sadly Will was suddenly disappear and his mother and brother frantically were looking for him along side their town sheriff and the group. After a while they found out that Will disappearance was supernatural incidence and there was a girl with supernatural ability called Eleven or El by her new friends. So the first season was about looking for Will and supernatural creature.

The second season was the continuation of the first. The danger was never left, furthermore it got bigger so everyone who was involved need to solve this.

I love this show because it about friendship, family with one of my favorite kind of theme. Sci-Fi with. The story and the dynamic of the story and the relationship between characters was really good and they also gave 80’s vibe. Truly love show. Highly recommended.

Rating: 4.8/5 stars
The Guest

This is Korean drama. My sister suggested this drama after I suggested her to watch The Haunting of Hill House (THoHH). She suggested because it was horror story but after I watched it, I found out that both have very different approach on horror. I would say, The Guest is more horror than THoHH. THoHH is more ghost story with psychological thriller while The Guest is horror with crime investigation undertone.

This story was about a taxi driver who want to kill a demon as his life objective, after he was possessed by it during childhood and caused by death of his family. The guy was helped by a priest exorcist and a female detective who both also affected by this demon.

The demon was so powerful that it could possessed people and causing everyone who possessed became really bad and stabbing own eye.

The image quite graphic. Quite shocked for me that Korean drama has this type of in the face of horror but I watched blurred kind of image. Not sure the drama has the censored or due to channel that I watched. I was hooked with the drama but be cautioned, being a Korean drama, it always take a long winding road if you got what I mean. The story also kinda have plot hole here and there but what ever. Overall was good.

Rating: 4/5 stars
Black Mirror

I watched this after I received a good rating in Netflix and looked promising because as usual my one of favorite genre.

This series is anthology type. Each episode is stand alone story and the theme is future, consquence of technology, social media and so on. Very forward thinking of story and it could go both way, good or bad or in between. Each season has about 4 episodes. Some of the most memorable story were about bees, a very shocking 1st episode, and social media community. Some were shocking, some were disturbing but couldn’t stop thinking how brilliant were the stories.

Rating: 4.9/5 stars

Chilling Adventure of Sabrina

A remake of Sabrina a Teenage Witch but darker spectrum. Sabrina was half witch and half mortal and her aunts pushed her to sign up with their demon lord but she so hanged up with her human life such as friends and boyfriend that she didn’t want to choose and wanted both life.

The series really takes the darker side but still not gory even though the element sas there.

One more thing that I quite feel disturbed is because I’m a Muslim. The witchs and wizards belief were totally contradictory with Islam belief. Their proclamation and their chanting gave me chills. For us this was totally devil worshipping which is totally against Islam. I know that this just a show but I won’t recommend it to anyone especially children.

I also not sure whether I will continue watching this, some of it was enjoyable but sometime I don’t like some character including Sabrina so I might discontinue this. Will see.

Rating: 3.8/5 stars

Leave a comment